945: U is for Ulluco

Ulluco is pretty much a potato, except it’s not a potato.

When I was a pore colege stoodent I lived off of rice and coffee. I would mix cayenne pepper into the rice because after living on rice for a couple of months it doesn’t taste very good. Cayenne does a pretty good job of masking the taste. One day I opened up my container of rice before class, and a fellow classmate recoiled in horror at the smell.

Presumably he was one of those privileged people who had money to be normal meals.

At any rate, I was happy when I finally had enough money to buy potatoes.

I’ve never had Ulluco, but it probably wouldn’t be all that gross.

15 thoughts on “945: U is for Ulluco

      • Actually it wasn’t bad – I said all that negative stuff for literary effect. From what I remember it was fairly waxy – which is not to my liking. The Chinese lady who owned the local Fish and Chip shop was excited because it’s used in Chinese cooking. So I gave it all to her and she planted them in her vegie garden.

Leave a comment